What Should I Do After Suffering From a Slip-and-Fall Injury at Work?
You should take steps to document where and how the accident occurred to highlight the cause of your injury and document any visual obstructions and poor lighting conditions that may have contributed to the accident. This documentation will help solidify your claim and give your workplace trip-and-fall lawyer an excellent base to stand on moving forward. You should also immediately report your slip-and-fall accident through the appropriate work channels to ensure everything remains above board. Failure to internally report your accident to a boss, supervisor, foreman, or manager could lead to an outright dismissal of your claim. In addition, if you fail to report the accident within 120 days of suffering your injury, you may lose out on the chance to file for workers’ compensation for slip-and-fall accidents in Pennsylvania.
In the immediate aftermath of suffering from a slip-and-fall injury at work, you need to get the necessary medical treatment. Even if the injuries don’t appear that severe, you should quickly get checked out by a doctor. If you wait too long to get a professional opinion, your employer may try to argue that you sustained your injuries outside of work. A good workplace slip-and-fall accident attorney will recommend you seek medical help quickly.
How to File a Claim for Workplace Slip-and-Fall Injuries
When you file a claim for workplace slip-and-fall injuries in Pennsylvania, you must follow rigid rules to get the benefits you deserve. In the Commonwealth of PA, employers should give all workers a list of Panel Providers to treat with. If they have complied with this requirement, you are technically to treat with those Providers for the first 90 days in order to have your medical bills paid by the workers’ compensation carrier. After those 90 days, you are free to choose any medical provider to treat with.
As soon as you report your injury to your employer, they are to complete a “first report of injury” to the state to get the clock started. Your employer is to submit the claim to their workers’ compensation carrier. From the date of receipt of the claim, the assigned workers’ compensation adjustor has 21 days within which to accept or deny your claim. If you fail to give Notice to your employer within the first 120 days of your injury, you could lose your right to seek benefits of any kind — no matter how good your workplace slip-and-fall accident lawyer is.
How to Know When to Fight
Many workers may not realize that the workers’ compensation carrier does not always have their best interests at heart. Instead, they may side with your employer and work to minimize how much they have to cover, putting more of the onus on you to cover the expenses. In situations like these, having an experienced workplace slip-and-fall accident attorney can help ensure you get everything you deserve. Robinson Law LLC has worked tirelessly to help our clients receive the benefits they deserve and get their voices heard in a court of law.
Get Robinson Law On Your Side Today
As a top workplace slip-and-fall accident attorney in Pennsylvania, Paula has helped her clients meet the necessary deadlines. She knows what it takes to ensure you receive the benefits you deserve and aren’t left out in the cold. She has helped clients throughout Lehigh County, Northampton County, Bucks County, Lackawanna County, Allentown, Bethlehem, Easton, Doylestown, Williamsport, Quakertown, Center Valley, and more to ensure they aren’t forgotten.
Do you have questions regarding your Pennsylvania workers’ compensation case? Please refer to our frequently asked questions
page to read up on the most commonly asked questions we’ve received over the years. Additionally, we have helped out clients with the following services:
- Road Work Injuries
- Overexertion Injuries
- Heavy Equipment and Falling Object Injuries
When you need an experienced trip-and-fall lawyer in your corner, don’t turn elsewhere. Contact Paula to schedule your free consultation and start filing your workers’ compensation claim today!