Pennsylvania Underage DUI Attorney

Pennsylvania Underage DUI Attorney

Underage drinking and juvenile DUI are a real concern in Pennsylvania, with many high school and college students in Lehigh, Bucks and Northampton Counties being charged with this offense every year. Prominent colleges located in these underage drinking and DUI hotspots include Lehigh University, Bucks County Community College, and Northampton County Community College.

Parents and minors should be aware of the legal consequences of underage drinking and driving, and should get a strong representation from a skilled and dedicated Pennsylvania underage DUI attorney who can help protect their rights.

Zero Tolerance for Underage DUI in Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania has stringent laws that prohibit underage drunk driving. If you are below 21 years and get caught driving under the influence of liquor or drugs, you will likely face an underage DUI charge. Contrary to what most parents and minors may like to believe, underage drivers are held to a much higher DUI standard compared to an adult.

In Pennsylvania, the legal BAC (blood alcohol content) limit for minors is 0 percent, while the BAC for adults is 0.08 percent. In other words, if a minor is found driving with even 0.01 percent or even lower amount of alcohol in their blood, they could be charged with juvenile DUI.

Penalties in Pennsylvania for Underage DUI

If you are convicted of underage DUI in Pennsylvania, the following penalties may be imposed on you:

First Underage DUI Offense

Underage-DUI-Attorney
  • Imprisonment for 48 hours (mandatory minimum sentence)
  • Fine of $500
  • License suspension for 12 months 
  • Alcohol safety classes and any treatment program for alcohol or drug addiction that the court may decide

Second Underage DUI Offense

  • Imprisonment for 30 days (mandatory minimum sentence)
  • Fine of $750
  • License suspension for 12 months 
  • Alcohol safety classes and any treatment program for alcohol or drug addiction that the court may decide

Third Underage DUI Offense

  • Imprisonment for 90 days (mandatory minimum sentence)
  • Fine of $1,500
  • License suspension for 18 months 
  • Alcohol safety classes and any treatment program for alcohol or drug addiction that the court may decide

It is important to note that multiple DUI convictions for a minor would mean that the second offense would be treated as a first degree misdemeanor.

An Underage DUI Charge is Worth Fighting For

An underage DUI charge in Pennsylvania is not a conviction. Make sure you have a capable and resourceful underage DUI attorney on your side that can explain your rights and do everything within the scope of the law to get your DUI charge mitigated or dismissed.

The charges are worth fighting for if you have a competent defense attorney on your side. For a first-time juvenile DUI offender in Pennsylvania, there could be an opportunity to undergo an ARD program (Accelerated Rehabilitative Disposition). If you are eligible for this program and successfully complete it, the DUI conviction will be removed from your criminal record.

Consult with an Experienced Underage DUI Attorney in Eastern PA

At Robinson Law in Eastern Pennsylvania, Paula Robinson, Esq., will leave no stone unturned to achieve the best possible outcome in an underage DUI case. With nearly four decades of experience in the field of law, Paula will protect their rights and preserve their future. Time is of essence, call now.

If your child is facing an underage DUI charge, call Attorney Paula for aggressive yet compassionate representation as soon as possible at 215-530-7166. All calls start with a free consultation and case evaluation.